National Society of Film Critics

20's 10's 00's 90's 80's 70's 60's Awards Page >>

2022 - 57th Annual National Society of Film Critics Awards

Best Picture: Tar
(RU - Aftersun)
Best Director: Charlotte Wells, Aftersun
(RU - Park Chan-wook, Decision to Leave)
Best Actor: Colin Farrell, After Yan & The Banshees of Inisherin
(RU - Paul Mescal, Aftersun)
Best Actress : Cate Blanchett, Tar
(RU - Michelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All at Once)
Best Supporting Actor: Ke Huy Quan, Everything Everywhere All at Once
(RU - Brian Tyree Henry, Causeway)
Best Supporting Actress : Kerry Condon, The Banshees of Inisherin
(RU - Nina Hoss, Tar)
Screenplay : Tar, written by Todd Field
(RU - The Banshees of Inisherin)
Best Cinematography : EO, by Michal Dymek
Best Film Not in the English Language : EO, directed by Jerzy Skolimowski
Best Documentary : All the Beauty and the Bloodshed, directed by Laura Poitras
Film Heritage Award:
  • Jeanine Basinger, one of our most esteemed and important film scholars, whose work at Wesleyan University and beyond has continually bridged the divide between Hollywood and academia, film studies and movie love.
  • Screen Slate, published and edited by Jon Dieringer, an essential daily online publication that has done much to build and sustain the filmmaking, theatrical exhibition and film critical communities of New York City and by extension the world at large.
  • Turner Classic Movies, for a rich array of programming that ranges deep and wide in the history of cinema, a service too easily taken for granted by audiences and worthy of the utmost care and attention from its corporate owners.

    The Society dedicated this meeting to Sheila Benson, an esteemed Society member and the warmest, most gracious of colleagues. As film critic for the Los Angeles Times and other publications, she wrote about movies with infectious joy and enviable skill. We miss her dearly.

    2021 - 56th Annual National Society of Film Critics Awards

    Best Picture: Drive My Car
    (RU - Petite Maman)
    Best Director: Ryusuke Hamaguchi, Drive My Car & Wheel of Fortune and Fantasy
    (RU - Jane Campion, The Power of the Dog)
    Best Actor: Hidetoshi Nishijima, Drive My Car
    (RU - Benedict Cumberbatch, The Power of the Dog)
    Best Actress : Penelope Cruz, Parallel Mothers
    (RU - Renate Reinsve, The Worst Person in the World)
    Best Supporting Actor: Anders Danielsen Lie, The Worst Person in the World
    (RU - Vincent Lindon, Titane)
    Best Supporting Actress : Ruth Negga, Passing
    (RU - Ariana DeBose, West Side Story)
    Screenplay : Drive My Car, written by Ryusuke Hamaguchi and Takamasa Oe
    (RU - Parallel Mothers)
    Best Cinematography : The Green Knight, by Andrew Droz Palermo
    Best Documentary : Flee, directed by Jonas Poher Rasmussen
    Special Citation for a Film Awaiting U.S. Distribution : Returning to Reims, directed by Jean-Gabriel Periot
    Film Heritage Award:
  • Maya Cade for founding the Black Film Archive, which expands knowledge of and access to Black films made between 1915 and 1979, and includes her critical essays that define the project and consider the films in relation to each other and to the cinema overall.
  • The late Bertrand Tavernier and Peter Bogdanovich, distinguished critic-filmmakers who never lost their passion for other people's movies and film history. Both crowned their careers with invaluable chronicles of their engagement with the cinema: Tavernier with the with the documentary My Journey Through French Cinema and the books 50 Years of American Cinema and American Friends, and Bogdanovich with the books Who the Devil Made It and Who the Hell's In It.

    2020 - 55th Annual National Society of Film Critics Awards

    Best Picture: Nomadland
    (RU - First Cow)
    Best Director: Chloe Zhao, Nomadland
    (RU - Steve McQueen - Small Axe)
    Best Actor: Delroy Lindo, Da 5 Bloods
    (RU - Chadwick Boseman - Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)
    Best Actress : Frances McDormand, Nomadland
    (RU - Viola Davis - Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)
    Best Supporting Actor: Paul Raci, Sound of Metal
    (RU - Glynn Turman - Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)
    Best Supporting Actress : Maria Bakalova, Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
    (RU - Amanda Seyfried, Mank)
    Screenplay : Never Rarely Sometimes Always, written by Eliza Hittman
    (RU - First Cow)
    Best Cinematography : Nomadland, by Joshua James Richards
    Best Documentary : Time, directed by Garrett Bradley
    Best Foreign Film : Collective, directed by Alexander Nanau
    Film Heritage Award:
  • Women Make Movies, which, since the 1970s, has been releasing daring and distinctive female-directed movies that more conventional distributors wouldn't touch.
  • Film Comment, founded in 1962 and currently on hiatus, has long been the most substantial and wide-ranging American film magazine.
  • The Brattle Theatre in Cambridge, MA. Among America's premier repertory houses, showing arthouse movies steadily since 1953, and holding strong in continuing the time-honored tradition of daily double features.

    Compare with other awards from the 20's
    NBR LAFCA NYFCC Golden Globes