Florida Film Critics Circle

<< Florida Page 10's 00's 90's Awards Page >>


Picture: Mad Max: Fury Road
Director: George Miller, Mad Max: Fury Road
Actor: Paul Dano, Love & Mercy
Actress: Brie Larson, Room
Supporting Actor: Oscar Isaac, Ex Machina
Supporting Actress: Kristen Stewart, Clouds of Sils Maria
Original Screenplay: Spotlight, Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer
Adapted Screenplay: The Big Short, Charles Randolph and Adam McKay
Foreign Language Film: The Assassin
Cinematography: Mad Max: Fury Road, John Seale
Visual Effects: Mad Max: Fury Road
Art Direction/Production Design: Carol, Judy Becker & Heather Loeffler
Pauline Kael Award for Newcomer of the Year: Daisy Ridley - Star Wars: The Force Awakens
Animated Feature: Inside Out
Documentary: Amy
Ensemble: Spotlight


Picture: Birdman
Director: Richard Linklater, Boyhood
Actor: Michael Keaton, Birdman
Actress: Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
Supporting Actor: J.K. Simmons, Whiplash
Supporting Actress: Patricia Arquette, Boyhood
Original Screenplay: The Grand Budapest Hotel, Wes Anderson
Adapted Screenplay: Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn
Foreign Language Film: The Raid 2
Cinematography: Interstellar, Hoyte Van Hoytema
Visual Effects: Interstellar
Art Direction/Production Design: The Grand Budapest Hotel, Adam Stockhausen & Stephan O. Gessler
Pauline Kael Award for Newcomer of the Year: Damien Chazelle - writer/director of Whiplash
Animated Feature: The LEGO Movie
Documentary: Life Itself
Ensemble: The Grand Budapest Hotel
Golden Orange: The Borscht Corp - for their tireless championing of independent filmmaking.


Picture: 12 Years a Slave
Director: Steven McQueen, 12 Years a Slave
Actor: Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave
Actress: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
Supporting Actor: Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club
Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong'o, 12 Years a Slave
Original Screenplay: Her, Spike Jonze
Adapted Screenplay: 12 Years a Slave, John Ridley
Foreign Language Film: Blue is the Warmest Color
Cinematography: Gravity, Emmanuel Lubezki
Visual Effects: Gravity
Art Direction/Production Design: The Great Gatsby, Thomas Brown and Sarah Greenwood
Pauline Kael Award for Newcomer of the Year: Lupita Nyong'o, 12 Years a Slave
Animated Feature: Frozen
Documentary: The Act of Killing
Golden Orange: Dana Keith, Miami Beach Cinematheque - For his tireless championing of foreign, independent and alternative film in South Florida for more than 20 years.


Picture: Argo
Director: Ben Affleck, Argo
Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis, Lincoln
Actress: Jessica Chastain, Zero Dark Thirty
Supporting Actor: Philip Seymour Hoffman, The Master
Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway, Les Miserables
Original Screenplay: Looper, Rian Johnson
Adapted Screenplay: Argo, Chris Terrio
Foreign Language Film: The Intouchables
Cinematography: Skyfall, Roger Deakins
Visual Effects: Life of Pi
Art Direction/Production Design: Anna Karenina, Thomas Brown and Sarah Greenwood
Pauline Kael Award for Newcomer of the Year: Quvenzhané Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild
Animated Feature: Frankenweenie
Documentary: The Queen of Versailles


Picture: The Descendants
Director: Martin Scorsese, Hugo
Actor: Michael Fassbender, Shame
Actress: Michelle Williams, My Week with Marilyn
Supporting Actor: Albert Brooks, Drive
Supporting Actress: Shailene Woodley, The Decendants
Original Screenplay: The Artist, Michael Hazanavicius
Adapted Screenplay: The Descendants, Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash
Foreign Language Film: The Skin I Live In
Cinematography: The Tree of Life, Emmanuel Lubezki
Visual Effects: Rise of the Planet of the Apes
Art Direction/Production Design: Hugo, Dante Ferretti
Pauline Kael Award for Newcomer of the Year: Elizabeth Olsen, Martha Marcy May Marlene
Animated Feature: The Adventures of Tintin
Documentary: Project Nim


Picture: The Social Network
Director: David Fincher, The Social Network
Actor: Colin Firth, The King's Speech
Actress: Natalie Portman, Black Swan
Supporting Actor: Christian Bale, The Fighter
Supporting Actress: Melissa Leo, The Fighter
Original Screenplay: Inception, Christopher Nolan
Adapted Screenplay: The Social Network, Aaron Sorkin
Foreign Language Film: I Am Love
Cinematography: Inception, Wally Pfister
Pauline Kael Award for Newcomer of the Year: Jennifer Lawrence, Winter's Bone
Animated Feature: Toy Story 3
Documentary: The Tillman Story
Golden Orange for Outstanding Contribution to Film: Matthew Curtis, Enzian Theater & FL Film Festival