Chicago Film Critics Association

Awards Page >>

1997 10th Chicago Film Critics Awards

Best Picture
* L.A. Confidential
As Good As It Gets
Boogie Nights
The Sweet Hereafter

Best Foreign Film
* Shall We Dance?
Irma Vep
La Ceremonie
Ulysses' Gaze
When the Cats Away

Best Director
* Curtis Hanson - L.A. Confidential
Paul Thomas Anderson - Boogie Nights
James Brooks - As Good As It Gets
James Cameron - Titanic
Atom Egoyan - The Sweet Hereafter
Ang Lee - The Ice Storm

Best Actor
* Robert Duvall - The Apostle
Peter Fonda - Ulee's Gold
Ian Holm - The Sweet Hereafter
Jack Nicholson - As Good As It Gets
Al Pacino - Donnie Brasco

Best Actress
* Judi Dench - Mrs. Brown
Helena Bonham Carter - The Wings of the Dove
Jodie Foster - Contact
Pam Grier - Jackie Brown
Helen Hunt - As Good As It Gets

Best Supporting Actor
* Burt Reynolds - Boogie Nights
Robert Forster - Jackie Brown
Anthony Hopkins - Amistad
Greg Kinnear - As Good As It Gets
Kevin Spacey - L.A. Confidential

Best Supporting Actress
* Debbi Morgan - Eve's Bayou
Joan Allen - The Ice Storm
Joan Cusack - In & Out
Julianne Moore - Boogie Nights
Sarah Polley - The Sweet Hereafter

Most Promising Actor
* Matt Damon - Good Will Hunting
Ben Affleck - Chasing Amy / Going All the Way / Good Will Hunting
Aaron Eckhart - In the Company of Men
Djimon Hounsou - Amistad
Guy Pearce - L.A. Confidential

Most Promising Actress
* Joey Lauren Adams - Chasing Amy
Cate Blanchett - Oscar and Lucinda / Paradise Road
Stacy Edwards - In the Company of Men
Sarah Polley - The Sweet Hereafter
Jurnee Smollett - Eve's Bayou

Best Screenplay
* L.A. Confidential - Brian Helgeland, Curtis Hanson
As Good As It Gets - Mark Andrus, James Brooks
Chasing Amy - Kevin Smith
In the Company of Men - Neil Labute
The Sweet Hereafter - Atom Egoyan

Best Cinematography
* Titanic - Russell Carpenter
The Ice Storm - Frederick Elmes
Kundun - Roger Deakins
L.A. Confidential - Dante Spinotti
The Pillow Book - Sacha Vierney

Best Original Score
* Titanic - James Horner
Gattaca - Michael Nyman
Kundun - Philip Glass
L.A. Confidential - Jerry Goldsmith
The Sweet Hereafter - Michael Danna